Combining beans in the rain

I was looking through search terms that brought people to my blog and one was, “combine soybeans in the rain.” I asked Andy Kleinschmidt, an agronomist with The Ohio State University in Van Wert County, Ohio, if he could provide a quick answer. Here’s what he replied to me via Twitter:

“soybeans are hard to cut and knock out of the pod when rained on. Rained on harvested soybeans should not be left in semi or wagon.”

I will try to do a little research on the topic (and for corn as well), but I wanted to get that up real quick for visitors.

I definitely recommend visiting Andy’s blog for information on agriculture in his neck of the woods.

Nick

Leave a Reply

